top of page

Laura


‘Health to me has changed a lot over the years, and I feel that it’s not something that comes easily to most. When I was about 15 I got really ill and lost a lot of weight because of it. Unfortunately it was around this time when I discovered Tumblr and a lot of social media sites that encouraged young girls to lose weight, so I used to tell myself that I was full after eating a tiny amount of food. I wanted to keep off the weight that I had lost so that I would eventually look skinny enough. Thankfully as I got better I did more and more exercise and spent less time going through social media, which meant that I stopped analysing what I was eating.

For me now, health is doing things which help you to love yourself, whether that be exercising regularly, eating healthily, reading daily, meditating or eating chocolate! It’s important not to punish yourself for doing things not considered ‘healthy’ by the social media community. I’m still learning how to improve my relationship with food and exercise, but health is not a destination, it’s a journey.’

bottom of page