top of page

Saskia


‘How I define health has definitely changed

and evolved over the past few years. Up until about the age of 16 I rarely thought about ‘health’ and took my own, as well those around me, for granted. In terms of food, I think then when I discovered eating ‘healthy’ could result in

weight loss my definition of health became quite narrow and would constantly be counting up calories of things I was eating. I never reached a point of total restriction though – I think I was just hyper aware and actually enjoying eating healthily and exercising which is definitely not a bad thing entirely! In my first year of university I spent all my time hungover and battling constant cravings to eat and eat and eat and eat. Being in catered halls where the portions were huge, it was very easy to over eat, especially because I have a waste not want not mind set.

My health deteriorated quite a lot, both physically and in hindsight, mentally too. Comfort eating is definitely real and I struggled to have any motivation to exercise which I’d never experienced before. I think this is where I started to realise health really isn’t just about food, but our bodies and minds as a whole. What we eat is entwined with our minds. If your eating that entire pack of biscuits because you want it or whether your eating it sort of out as a self punishment, in a moment of self loathing, are two quite very different things. And I think this is where things like choice come in. People can be so extreme in judging you if you say no to the cake but I think a sane person knows when suits their body to eat the cake and when it doesn’t. It is so easy to compare yourself with someone that says no to the cake when really for all you know they could have eaten a whole one earlier that day so are caked out. Recently I was told I have polycystic ovaries, which would explain some of my weight gain in my first year of uni due to my hormones being all over the place. But this is so easily managed through exercising and not eating a portion of dinner the size of a house plus everybody else’s leftovers.

Realising my body is not a dustbin has been life changing. Being my own version of healthy is not comparing myself to someone who can do this and stay stick thin! Everyone has their own versions of health, but I think it’s important to remember that health is such a broad concept. However, in a nutshell, first and foremost it should be about your happiness. If you have a habit that’s making you unhappy CHANGE IT!!!!!!! It can be easy to over complicate our health when really, in the much boring reality of things, its about moderation. As a history student I’ve realised people have struggled with this concept in every time period, place and culture, so definitely don’t feel alone if you’re struggling. Everything in moderation – even moderation.’

bottom of page