top of page

Izzy


For me, there are definitely good and bad parts to the gym and the whole ‘gym/fitness world’ that goes with it. We go to the gym to improve our health, look a certain way, but there is such a narrow definition of what this healthy/aesthetic body should look like: skinny, toned, but not too muscly (I speak for women here, high but different standards apply to men too). For women in particular, we can often go to the gym thinking we want to get smaller, have less of this, get rid of that... it’s a very negative mind set and puts us in a very negative relationship with our body. Instead can’t we go to the gym to get stronger, run faster and be amazed by what our bodies can do?

I’ve learnt, over quite a few years of going to the gym, to have this positive relationship with my body. When I go to the gym I feel empowered and strong, and empowered by the other strong women around me! This is why I really encourage weights training as a way to feel strength in your body. That positive attitude and happiness is the best thing for your body!

bottom of page